Go to contents

Wonder Girls Members Reveal They Were Afraid of Returning as a Band

Rating Rating more One Star

2015.08.03 17:25 Mwave Oh, MiJung

Wonder Girls opened up about returning as a band, saying "We were afraid to come back as a band."

Reborn as a four-member group with Ye Eun, Sunmi, Yubin and Hye Rim, the Wonder Girls held a showcase for third full-length album Reboot at the Hyundai Card Understage in Seoul′s Hannam-dong on August 3.

When asked if they felt burdened by returning as a band, Sunmi said, "I think what fans like seeing from the Wonder Girls is Wonder Girls dancing. When we decided to come out as a band, there was fear."

Wonder Girls Members Reveal They Were Afraid of Returning as a Band

Sunmi continued, "The fears went away as we prepared the album. We were satisfied with the process of unraveling the members′ stories and feelings in the album. We all felt like we matured. Promoting as a band is scary, but even if the public thinks it′s strange, we don′t think we′ll have any regrets."

Ye Eun added, "We wondered if the public would like it if we came out as a band. But as you saw, we dance a litte and play instruments. We thought this kind of concept would be more approachable.

Wonder Girls performed the band style version of new song I Feel You. Yubin played the electronic drums and Ye Eun played the electronic keyboard. Hye Rim played the guitar and Sunmi played the bass, all the while dressed in sexy outfits, putting on a unique performance not yet seen from a girl group.

I Feel You is Park Jin Young′s creation. It is inspired by the freestyle music that came out of the Latin American community in New York in the ′80s, featuring synth instruments and a syncopated base rhythm.

The song ranked number one on MelOn, Mnet, Bugs, Olleh Music, Soribada, Genie, Naver and Monkey3 as soon as it was released at noon on August 3. With the exception of I Feel You, all of the tracks in Wonder Girls′ third album Reboot were composed and written by the members themselves.

Meanwhile, members Sunye and Sohee announced their formal withdrawal from the group on July 20. Wonder Girls has reinvented itself with four members Sunmi, Ye Eun, Yubin and Hye Rim.

Photo credit: Kim Byung Kwan

Wonder Girls 20150803
Any copying, republication or redistribution of Mwave's content other than for personal uses is expressly prohibited Without prior permission from Mwave. Copyright infringement is subject to criminal and civill penalties.


search news