Go to contents

JYP′s New Girl Group Members Confirmed, Aiming to Debut This Year

Rating Rating more One Star

2015.07.08 13:28 Mwave Lee Soo Ah

The final members of Sixteen will make their debut as group Twice later this year.

On the last episode of Mnet′s Sixteen, the girls competed in a final mission with the hopes of becoming a member of Twice. Nine girls were ultimately selected.

JYP′s New Girl Group Members Confirmed, Aiming to Debut This Year

Jihyo, Nayeon, Jungyeon, Chaeyoung, Sana, Mina, Tzuyu, Dahyeon and Momo were named the members of Twice, and the group will make its debut in the second half of the year. With nine members, the member count of SNSD coincidentally when it made its debut, there is interest in whether Twice will be the SNSD of the new generation.

In the final episode of Sixteen, the major team (Chaeyoung, Minyoung, Mina, Somi, Natty, Sana) and minor team (Nayeon, Jungyeon, Jihyo, Dahyun, Chaeryoung, Tsuyu) faced off in the final mission with both groups performing Do It Again.

From the minor team, Park Jin Young selected Nayeon to be a member of Twice, while Natty was eliminated. Park Jin Young then selected Jungyeon to be a member and eliminated Somi.

Park Jin Young selected a total of seven members to be a part of Twice, and Tsuyu was added on as a member based on viewer and audience opinion. Park Jin Young then called Momo′s name, saying "The member who will reinforce the eight debuting Sixteen members′ dance and performance."

Meanwhile, Sixteen is a debut project program with the aim to select the members of JYP′s new girl group Twice. The show ran for five months with 16 participants, who were separated into major and minor teams based on competitions each week.

Any copying, republication or redistribution of Mwave's content other than for personal uses is expressly prohibited Without prior permission from Mwave. Copyright infringement is subject to criminal and civill penalties.


search news