Go to contents

‘The Unjust’ Wins Top Honors at Blue Dragon Film Awards

Rating Rating more Three Stars

2011.11.26 11:45 Mwave Lee, InKyung

Film The Unjust won big at the 32nd Blue Dragon Film Awards, which was held at Kyunghee University’s Great Peace Palace in Seoul on November 25, taking home three awards for Best Film, Best Screenplay and Best Director. The film’s director and big winner of the night, Ryu Seung Hwan, was unable to attend the ceremony because he is currently on location overseas for his film Berlin. His wife and production company CEO Kang Hye Jung accepted the award on Ryu’s behalf.

Kang said to applause, “I am opposed to everything unjust in the world, like the proposed enforcement of the Korea-U.S. FTA (Free Trade Agreement) on November 22.” The Unjust was released in October of last year, and it was highly acclaimed for both its box office success and cinematic quality, drawing roughly three million moviegoers to theaters. It was also recognized at the Berlin International Film Festival.

‘The Unjust’ Wins Top Honors at Blue Dragon Film Awards

Park Hae Il of War of the Arrows and Kim Ha Neul of Blind won the Best Actor and Best Actress Awards, respectively. Park and Kim were awarded the Best Actor and Best Actress Awards at the 48th Daejong Film Festival in October as well.

“I’m so happy. I started acting at a really young age, and I think I’ve been able to come this far because I was lucky enough to have come across many great projects,” said Kim upon receiving her award. “I’ve been nominated a few times for a Blue Dragon Award because of those works, and I was always envious of the actors on stage as I watched from my seat.”

‘The Unjust’ Wins Top Honors at Blue Dragon Film Awards

Lee Je Hoon of Bleak Night and Moon Chae Won of War of the Arrows each took home a Best New Actor and Best New Actress Award, respectively.

For the complete list of the night’s winners, see below:

Best Film: The Unjust

Best Director: Ryu Seung Wan, The Unjust

Best Actor: Park Hae Il, War of the Arrows

Best Actress: Kim Ha Neul, Blind

Best Supporting Actor: Ryu Seung Ryong, War of the Arrows

Best Supporting Actress: Kim Su Mi I Love You

Best New Actor: Lee Je Hoon, Bleak Night

Best New Actress: Moon Chae Won War of the Arrows

Best New Director: Yoon Sung Hyun Bleak Night

Best Cinematography: Kim Woo Hyung, The Front Line

Best Lighting: Hwang Soon Wook, Hwanghae

Best Original Score: Mowg, The Crucible

Best Art Direction: Ryu Sung Hee, The Front Line

Technical Award: Oh Se Young, War of the Arrows

Best Original Screenplay: Park Hoon Jung, The Unjust

Best Short Film: Yang Hyo Joo, Broken Night

Popularity Award: Go Soo, Gong Yoo, Choi Kang Hee, Kim Hye Soo

Popular Film Award: War of the Arrows

Photo credit: Kim Byung Gwan

The Unjust 20111126
Any copying, republication or redistribution of Mwave's content other than for personal uses is expressly prohibited Without prior permission from Mwave. Copyright infringement is subject to criminal and civill penalties.


search news